Meet the man behind the birds: bird art that is

Yesterday, I interviewed Tom Sheerin. He is an ArtPrize artist known for creating large bird sculptures and other art from used metal. This year, His “Bird of Prey” is made from machetes and knives.

“I started it because I saw how the layered knives looked like bird feathers. So this is what I did with that,” Sheerin explains. 032319-000002.P

When asked what the talons were made of, Sheerin laughed.

“You probably don’t want to know that,” he said, “It’s some medical tool tat I found out the actual use after I made it. Yeah… I’ll just keep that to myself for now.”

Sheerin’s Bird of Prey is located in Downtown Grand Rapids at the BOB courtyard venue.

032319-000004.P

Leave a Reply

