Book club: The Paris Wife

Recently, I finished the NYT Bestselling book by Paula McLain, “The Paris Wife.”

“Sometimes I wish we could rub out all of our mistakes and start fresh, from the beginning,’ I said. ‘And sometimes I think there isn’t anything to us but our mistakes.”

Needless to say, it was pretty phenomenal.

But the purpose of this post is not to examine McLain’s prose and beautiful writing. Neither is it to examine the life of Ernest Hemingway and his first wife, which is the premise of the novel and entirely fascinating.

This quote from the book just grabbed me.

Between reading this today, and interviewing a remarkable young artist with quite the views on life, I am slowly realizing something.

I will never figure it out.

And hey, neither will you.

But that’s ok! And that’s the beauty of life! You are living a legacy on life, and that’s based on the mistakes you make.

Ok, my fortune cookie moment is over.

Leave a Reply

